$14* shipping Australia-Wide**. Visit our Shop or use Click & Collect

*Excludes GST. **Applies to eligible orders. Click here for more info.

Decodable Readers

Looking for the most complete and intuitive range of Decodable Readers? Look no further, Abacus Educational Suppliers has got you covered.

Quickly find the decodable reader resources you need

You can also browse all our available decodable readers resources in the product results below, learn more about decodable readers on this page or check out our Junior Learning page.

Sort By
Decodable Chapter Books - Phase 4 (Blends)
$49.95 (ex GST)
Decodable Chapter Books - Phase 3 (Phonics)
$49.95 (ex GST)
The Beanies Hi-Lo Diversity Decodables Phase 6 Set 2 - 6 Pack
$269.95 (ex GST)
The Beanies Hi-Lo Diversity Decodables Phase 5 Set 2 - 6 Pack
$269.95 (ex GST)
The Beanies Hi-Lo Diversity Decodables Phase 2 Set 2 - 6 Pack
$269.95 (ex GST)
Decodable Big Books Fiction - A3 (6 books)
$69.95 (ex GST)
Decodable Big Books Non-Fiction - A3 (6 books)
$69.95 (ex GST)
Letters & Sounds - Single Kit (Year 1)
$950.00 (ex GST)
Letters & Sounds - Classroom Kit (Year 1)
$3,590.00 (ex GST)
Fix Its Suffixes Non-Fiction - Phase 6 (Set of 6)
$269.95 (ex GST)
Decodable Readers Holders (Set of 6)
$39.95 (ex GST)
Letters & Sounds Phase 6 Spelling Classroom Kit
$1,590.00 (ex GST)

What are decodable readers?

Decodable Readers have been written specifically for the progression of letters and sounds. The primary purpose of decodable texts is to provide students with the opportunity to practise what has been taught during explicit, systematic phonics instruction. The decodable readers in our collection have been written by Anna Kirschberg and published by Beanstalk Books and Junior Learning.

How do decodable readers work?

Beanstalk Books decodable readers are built on the principles of the science of reading and supports the worldwide movement of evidence based reading instruction. Demand from parents and teachers alike has been high and the decodable range has extended to over 350 titles in just the last few years. Beanstalk Books decodable readers build reading confidence and reading success for all children learning to read.

All Beanstalk Books decodable reader libraries follow the same pattern of learning. Each set of readers is split up into 6 consecutive phases of learning:

  • Phase 1 - The first phase focuses on increasing childrens' phonemic awareness and developing further speaking and listening skills. Phase 1 phonemic awareness readers are designed for teaching the understanding of sounds and words. Each individual phonemic awareness reader introduces 8 different letter sounds (phonemes). The speaking and listening readers are designed to teach the understanding of how books work. Each reader contains a story for retelling.
  • Phase 2 - After instilling basic phonemic awareness, it's time to learn about Letter Sounds as part of Phase 2. Letter sound readers introduce the first 21 letter sounds. All phases also include a strictly controlled vocabulary that follows the letter-by-letter progression along with 'tricky words'.
  • Phase 3 - After learning about letter sounds, Phase 3 hones in on Phonics. Phonics readers introduce the next 22 letter sounds.
  • Phase 4 - Phase 4 introduces 38 different adjacent consonants (also called blends).
  • Phase 5 - The next phase covers the concept of Vowel Sounds. Phase 5 readers introduce 20 new letter patterns, mainly focusing on alternative vowel sounds.
  • Phase 6 - The final phase brings Spelling into the fold. Spelling readers have been written with a rich vocabulary including embedded words that contain suffixes. They also consolidate earlier taught phonics skills and 'tricky words'.